Home > Uncategorized > I believe. Help thou my unbelief. Mark 9:24 KJV

I believe. Help thou my unbelief. Mark 9:24 KJV

I am starting a journey through Romans.  I have often thought about doing this and just keep coming up with other subjects.  My devotional life hasn’t been what it should be lately so I’m studying Romans and recording what I think about.  I am no authority on Holy Scripture.  This is just my impressions.  As I go through, I’ll write about what strikes me as appropriate.  What’s funny is that after reading Romans I have 2 topics already and will probably add another 1 or 2 depending on the direction I want to go.  Or the direction I’m led.  We’ll see.

So what does it mean to believe?  Many people express a belief in God.  Many people express a belief that Jesus is His Son and that Jesus died on the cross for the forgiveness of sin.  They believe that he rose on the third day and ascended into Heaven.  Many believe but what does that get them?

Look at the most well-known verse in the Bible, John 3:16.  “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that whosoever believed in Him should not perish but have eternal life.”  There’s that word again.  Believe.

Romans 1:16 “For I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God unto salvation for everyone who believes.”  Belief.

What does believe mean?

Belief in God is not the same as believing in God.  Let me explain.  No, there is too much.  Let me sum up.

When we believe in God, it is a function of faith.  It is far from an intellectual pursuit.  The Amplified Bible clarifies what is meant in Roman 1:16.  “With a personal trust and a confident surrender and firm reliance” these words follow “everyone who believes” in that translation.  Is that how you believe?

A personal trust and a confident surrender and a firm reliance on God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit.

Do the lives of those “believers” out there reflect this?  I daresay they don’t.  Mine sometimes doesn’t.

Believing in Jesus as the Christ, the Son of the Living God, is different from believing in anything else.  Ghosts, Santa Clause, the Great Pumpkin or the Tooth Fairy.  None of these beliefs offer you eternal life.  Believing in God is more than an intellectual exercise.  You show your belief.

As for the intellectual side, James puts it this way.  “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”  Yes.  They, too, believe in God.  They cannot be saved by this belief.

A friend once said to me, “Why do people think they will spend eternity in heaven with the God they rejected so often on Earth?”  Why would they want to?  Is it just that they believe Hell will be bad so they pay lip service to belief in God thinking that will save them?  I don’t think it will.

Proverbs 14:12 and 16:25 say, “There is a way that seems right to a man but the end thereof is death.”

Pay attention to that I plan on coming back to it before I finish with Romans Ch 1.

Just like I earlier pointed out here, many are in the church who can’t be told apart from the world.  What is the difference, other than the fact that they attend church and claim Christ?  They are, as Paul put it in 2 Timothy 3:5 “having a form of godliness but denying its power”.

I want my belief in God to mean I believe “with a personal trust and a confident surrender and firm reliance” on Him.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 24, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I read something just a few days ago that seems to go along with this. It said “belief in God is not a matter of the mind, but a matter of the heart” I thought that was fitting since people out there with their mind will acknowledge there is a God, but don’t want to truly let Him into their heart.

    • September 24, 2010 at 12:27 pm

      Good observation, Pete. I’m afraid the church, especially in the USA, has many “Christians” who will soon be surprised to be left sitting here when Jesus calls us home.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

