Home > Uncategorized > The Creativity Bug

The Creativity Bug

So my sister is a writer.  She has been a writer ever since I can remember.  She has a story idea and “BOOM!”: New Story.  At least that’s how it seemed to me.  And they’re not just stories.  A bunch of people can write stories.  Thousands of people throw words on page every day.  But she has always had good, well-developed characters and locations.  To be honest I’ve always been jealous of that ability.

A couple years ago, I had an idea for a story of my own.  I thought about it.  Then after that I thought about it.  It never seemed to come together completely for me.  I could think up a good “high concept”, whatever that means.  I had a couple of plot elements I wanted to try out.  I even had an overarching plot…sort of.  I talked this concept over with Mary Beth and she said it sounds interesting.  I should write it.  “Yeah right, I thought.”

This is not the first time I’ve had story ideas.  Most times I’ve turned some of them into plots for RPGs that I then don’t play because I don’t have a group.  I could play with my kids, but usually they just want me to tell them a story and, ask my wife, I can’t string a story together that well verbally.  At least not by myself.  Or they want to roll dice and kill things.  No real story needed.

Fast forward 2 years.  My sister, for the first time ever, came to visit us here in Georgia.  It was a great time.  We really enjoyed having her here.  One evening I took the night off one of my jobs and stayed home with her while my wife took our son to band practice.  I started picking her brain about writing.  I must have asked 50 questions.  She ended up telling me the most important thing I learned from her.  Just write.  So, finally, I just started putting the opening on my blog just to see what would happen.

I asked for and received great feedback from her and a few others.  I was probably a little needy, but I need that approval from someone else.  I need it most of all when I’m starting something new.

Now I have what I THINK is the first chapter completed and I really like it.  I like being creative.  As an accountant that’s something that is usually frowned upon by the government, so no creative accounting.  This has given me an outlet to give “birth” to something new.  At least it’s new to me.

I hate to think of this writing endeavor as another job, (I already have 2) but I think I’d like to put in about an hour every day or two just to put down some words on a page.  Maybe it will be blogging, which has allowed me to unjam my brain more than once.  Maybe it will be writing another chapter or section of my book  (Short story? novella? We’ll see.)

Regardless, I will be able see what I have inside my head.  (Sounds like the Pensieve from Harry Potter.)  Maybe I am a writer, too.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

