Home > Uncategorized > Leave the gun…

Leave the gun…

Yesterday I ate a cannoli for the first time. It was a mini cannoli from Honeymoon bakery in Rome, GA. It was the most fantastic food I have ever put into my mouth. I used to wonder what the it was about cannoli, but now I totally understand. I never understood the Godfather quote, “Leave the gun. Take the cannoli,” until yesterday. Probably, it would help if I’d actually watched The Godfather. I just had the quote from watching You’ve Got Mail.
If you’ve never had one, you need to go out right now and get one. This one had a layer of dark chocolate in addition to the cream filling then was topped with powdered sugar and drizzled with dark chocolate. I got two of them. One for DW and one to share with the kids. (We also had some gelato. Good, but not even close to the cannoli.) After the first bite of that mini cannoli, DW and kids almost had to do without.

  1. February 28, 2010 at 9:56 am

    We’ve got a small Mom & Pop Italian place in town that makes Cannoli to die for. DO NOT get the nasty stuff they sell in grocery store bakeries. It doesn’t compare!

  2. Beth
    March 5, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I want to know where the Mom & Pop Italian place “in town” is? Anywhere near Calhoun, GA, or Chatsworth, Ga?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

